Journeys To Mother Love

William Blake's Holy Thursday (1794). William Blake’s Holy Thursday (1794)

“Holy Week” (the week before Easter during which the last days of Christ’s life are commemorated) was not a term I grew up hearing a lot. In our family and church we celebrated the joy of Palm Sunday and the victory of Easter Sunday. But we didn’t have Maundy Thursday or Good Friday services that I can remember. Our denomination emphasized that we serve a risen savior and he has provided for us the grace to live in resurrection life, and I’m thankful for that heritage. Yes, the cross was sung about and preached about. I remember my father calling people to repentance and faith based on Jesus’ finished work on the cross. And all during the year we sang rousing hymns and gospel songs about the power of the cross and the blood. But Easter week was altogether a joyous experience of colored eggs…

View original post 481 more words